Find us on Facebook! 

USDA Service Center

996 State Road 66 Suite 102

Rockport, IN 47635

Contact us: 1-812-649-9136 ext. 3

Fax: 1-855-391-1917

Our mission is to provide information about soil, water, and related natural resource conservation; identify and prioritize local soil and water resource concerns; and connect land users to sources of educational, technical and financial assistance to implement conservation practices and technologies.

Meet your Soil and Water Conservation District


Brian Rahman - Chair

Burke Sibrel - Vice Chair

Alan Waninger - Secretary

Mark Lubbehusen

Tim Luecke

Associate Supervisors

David Gogel

Mike Roos

Phillip Schmidt


Courtney Hall, District Administrator

Courtney has been the District Administrator for the SWCD since September 2013. Along with day-to-day office work, she is the primary person to develop and present education programs for the district. Courtney has been a resident of Spencer County most of her life and is actively involved in her church and the community.

District Technician

Jamie Michaels joined the SWCD in September of 2018.

NRCS Staff

Randy Van Matre

District Conservationist for Perry and Spencer Counties

Betsy Wilkinson

Area Support Specialist with NRCS, serving the South West Area of Indiana

Indiana State Department of Agriculture

Amy Sims, Resource Specialist

Spencer County

Spencer County is a rural area, 396.7 square miles, with approximately 0.3% of Indiana's population based on the 2010 census. Spencer County is primarily a farming community with more than 630 farms utilizing just over 59% of the total land area. The top farming commodities include beef cattle, turkeys, chicken, grain, corn, soy, poultry, and pork. Spencer County is ranked in the top ten in the state of Indiana for the production of beef cattle, turkeys and woodland acres.

Upcoming Events

Contact Us

Courtney Hall - District Admin